Potato head

New Year’s Eve
buddy tells me
he knows
how to prove God exists.
His words verbatim:
“you ever notice, man,
the moon
it always faces towards us?”
<insert platitude,
followed by ‘nod’>
“there has to be some force,
or energy preventing it from
rotating like the
other planets, right?
I had to stop this
madness, I said ”
The Moon doesn’t have enough
mass for gravitational poles.”
-we then
exchanged glances.
His puzzled look
made me think about
my sanity.

© Emerys Watchel, 2016 All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

