The Herpes He’s Too Embarrassed To Tell His Mother About

i try to be a good tenant
keep my music down
mind my own business
i never run the laundry after 9pm
except on weekends
mindful of others
and still
the partiers come partying
banging on my walls
hollering at my balcony
though i ignore
pretend i don’t hear them
see them
eyes sideways
staring at the strange pale man
that no one knows
indoors always
behind thick curtains
clicking madly at his keyboard
into the night
laughing at nothing in particular
seen slinking
over parking lot shadow 3am
with bags for dumpster
mysterious
beautiful
pervert
they hate my quietude
that’s why they exhibit such obvious
insipid disgusting human behaviour
it’s that i don’t need them
or is it
because that one friend i had visiting
new years
screaming cocaine bliss and booze
at indian cab driver
lunatic howling fever
or
when my brother called me
and i shouted from my lungs
“she’s a cunt-faced bitch!”
and all the building heard my potty mouth
angry masturbating in the bathroom
smoking marijuana

i try
to be useful

i try to be less
frustrated

my upstairs neighbour gives me reason
though
he stomps every chance he gets
sits three feet from
his bellowing midnight television
smokes cigarettes on his balcony
above mine coughing mucus in yellow morning
makes racist faces at brown children
a general pain
i devour

phantom at his door
apparition on bedroom ceiling
nightmare in his ear
germ
in his soup
pimple on his morning cheek
meditating
Om,
Om,
I transcend

© Emerys Watchel, 2016 All rights reserved.

3 thoughts on “The Herpes He’s Too Embarrassed To Tell His Mother About

  1. As someone who lives within an apartment, is the exact opposite of my partying neighbor types, and is a recluse (likely our neighbors feel we are the creepy couple who never say anything to anyone) I feel like I can identify to some degree with this poem.

    I enjoyed the poem. ^_^

    Liked by 1 person

      1. No, I feel quite often the same way. It amazes me how self absorbed people can get when living in their apartments. I know not everyone is that way, but I live around the sort.

        I don’t see it as over analyzation. I see it as a pretty spot on perspective of certain tenants in certain places. I feel for people who get into the business of being apartment managers. That job must be no fun.

        Thank you for sharing and for wonderful discussion.

        Cheers! ^_^

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

