danke schoen

the machine at my
side
beeps non-alert tones
monitoring
my progress
I
woke

this Evening was my
morning
7:30 p.m.
sat on edge of bed
gripping chest
checking neck for pulse
sedentary
I
felt faint

then came the
FEAR
gasping for oxygen
like a
Goldfish

admitted my
soft
squishy meat
to the Emergency Rm.
Doctor says, “I
can’t seem to find
any cause
for these symptoms
you’ve described,

is there the possibility of
hypochondria?”, she said
but didn’t say
slim
brunette
short hair pulled behind ears
clear skin
freckles
blue/green eyes
thin lips
reticent smile

I
was given an arm cuff, and
a blood sugar
test
further questions
with which She
conferred with her
clipboard, after each
as
I lay
looking up w/
wires connected
via plastic nipple stickers
arranged
over my heart

the empirical device
just
beeps
clinical data report
I
‘m beginning to
suspect
that this Doctor
has developed an exclusive
relationship with her
machines, despite the health care
degree
and livelihood dependant on
human networking

my suspicions
were ultimately rewarded
when
She addressed the mass of
blinky monitors
with the same
familiar regard “and,
what seems to be
the problem?”

“mhmm, mhmm…” She
resumed that clipboard conference
as before, and
here I thought I
was the
terminal
patient

© Emerys Watchel, 2017 All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

