Ghosts

we are all
ghosts
destiny
is just reality’s joke
a little twist
to slit the wrist of the
host
flesh is foreign
the spirit’s remote
we are all
ghosts

I took my shoes
but the river was dry
we laid in bed
and dreamed the moon was
alive
he said “my child”
you know that I’m right
we will all
die

fight the traffic
for a spot at the beach
the radio
sings the songs of the week
lay out your blanket
and wrestle the heat
we will all
bleed

learn control
and call it romance
find a lover
and discover a dance
give and take
what you never had
we are all
bad

sometimes a cynic
is what you defend
optimism
is the light at the end
and the tunnel
is how we pretend
we are all
friends

I took my coat
from a beast in the night
a toothy carcass
he sat by my side
around the fire
we laughed in the smoke
destiny
is just reality’s joke
reach for purpose
and settle for hope
but we are all
ghosts

© Emerys Watchel, 2017 All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

