amygdala in a meat-suit

you are
you know you are
we both know you know
you are
go on
carry yourself
fill your lungs with
air
you’re so beautiful

it’s ugly

we’re sorry
in your absence we
created a doppelgänger you
to amuse us
but it has become
too
obnoxious
now
that you’ve returned
your persistent destruction
of our creation
will serve
as appetizing drama,
for now

until we tire of silence
and decide to complain
that you don’t
feed
us
…again

support I
validate I
acknowledge I
in faith I
in love I
I
I
I
I
I
am a person i feel
must exist
in the minds that populate
my environments
with perfect lucidity
in the dream that i dream of
myself

despite your perspective
interpretation
of our mutually
inexclusive
realities

I will insert monuments
of my likeness
into the realms
that you habitually manifest
and refuse to be responsible
for the arguments
perpetuated
in the blind-spots
of my ignorance

and insist
that you never had time for me
that we weren’t compatible
nevermind our human similarities
this was too long
and my emotional attention
-span
is easily distracted

something,
something,
blind-spots of my ignorance
now
watch
as
I
attempt to remove the wings
from this fly
without letting him
so
much
as
question
my degree in practicing medicine

© Emerys Watchel, 2017 All rights reserved.

One thought on “amygdala in a meat-suit

  1. One of the most thought provoking, honest pieces I’ve ever read. Excellent. Don’t be surprised at the reception, it’s to be expected. You did something here, something real, and that’s always noteworthy.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

