it is what it is

those triangles
hung around her neck
like a shark-tooth necklace
only
more geometric
,and cut
to catch light

the largest triangle
lay snugly
at the nape of her
cleavage
impossible to miss
with the angle of the counter
such
that one was always looking
down
at the receptionists
these
fat girls
with obvious self-image
problems

I
made it clear
that I was interested
in what was
going on
elsewhere
I noticed her tits
and triangles
of course
but I’m not an animal

…just paying rent

staring into the middle distance
remembering
the cab ride downtown
passed by a man
pushing fifty
wearing a lime green t-shirt
&a grey hooded sweater
unzipped, hood down
walking into the rain
“ha,
he’s makin’ good time. i
passed by that guy over on
eleventh, the cabbie said,
must be wet
with those plastic slippers
he’s wearing.”

“hardship comes easily
to some people.”
thought to myself
watching that man
carrying a folded child’s umbrella
bright pink
returning it to a granddaughter,
maybe?
a random stranger
with inappropriate shoes
caught by the pinch
of responsibility

I walked home from the rental office
in the rain
but,
mine was
for want of cab fare, christ
they raised my rent
a hundred bucks!

maybe next time I’ll pay her
jewellery a compliment

make small talk
with eye contact
maybe
when I can live with myself
for it
I’ll knuckle-under
and
become old

© Emerys Watchel, 2017 All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

