regarding your appreciation

what was it about my
presentation
that you
a d o r e d
was my
anemic countenance
accentuated
by the black of my suit jacket
near the shrimp platter
w/dried blood beneath my fingernails
as i offered you a cheap
Sauvignon
in a moonlit facsimile of
something more
romantic?

perhaps my wording
or
the way i burped consonants
and vowels
without politely excusing myself

i should ask
but that might disturb
the delicate
magic

© Emerys Watchel, 2017 All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

